Padma Shri 2019 Winners: Gautam Gambhir, Sunil Chhetri & Other Sports Stars Honoured by President Ram Nath Kovind; See Pics

Gautam Gambhir & Sunil Chhetri with President Ram Nath Kovind (Photo Credits: Twitter)

Earlier today, President Ram Nath Kovind presented the Padma awards to former cricketer Gautam Gambhir, footballer Sunil Chhetri, mountaineer Bachendri Pal, basketball player Prashanti Singh and a few others. A part of the ceremony was held on Monday. Earlier it was Ajay Thakur, Bajrang Punia Sharath Kamal and grandmaster Harika Dronavalli were conferred with the Padma awards. Padma Awards 2019 Sports Winners: Bajrang Punia, Ajay Thakur Among Sportspersons Honoured by President Ram Nath Kovind; See Pics.

Gambhir took to social media on Saturday to thank both his critics and supporters after receiving the honour. “This is for all the supporters of Indian cricket and my critics. Both have played a part in my journey…some day will discuss who played more than the other,” Gambhir wrote on Twitter.

Sunil Chhetri.

Mountaineer Bachendri Pal.

Basket Ball player Prashanti Singh.

The Padma Awards were announced on January 25 this year. A total of 94 personalities were selected for the Padma Shri award. Meanwhile, the second highest civilian award, Padma Vibhushan was given to Teejan Bai, an exponent of Pandavani, a traditional performing art.  Other Padma Vishushan Awardees were Shri Ismail Omar Guelleh (Foreigner) Shri Anilkumar Manibhai Naik and Shri Balwant Moreshwar Purandare. ISRO scientist Nambi Narayanan and Odisha tea seller D Prakash Rao were among the recipients of the honour.