Festivals & EventsHappy New Year 2020

International Day of UN Peacekeepers 2019: A Solemn Day of Remembrance to Honour United Nations Peacekeepers

File image of UN headquarters used for representational purpose | (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

The International Day of UN Peacekeepers is observed across the world on May 29 every year with an aim to honour more than 3700 peacekeepers who have lost their lives while serving the United Nations since 1948, including those who died in 2018. May 29 is “a day to pay tribute to all the men and women who have served and continue to serve in United Nations peacekeeping operations for their high level of professionalism, dedication, and courage and to honour the memory of those who have lost their lives in the cause of peace.”

The theme of the International Day of UN Peacekeepers 2019 is ‘Protecting Civilians, Protecting Peace’. This year’s campaign theme was chosen to mark the 20th anniversary of the first time that the Security Council (SC) explicitly mandated a peacekeeping mission to protect civilians. This year, the United Nations will celebrate the 71st anniversary of UN peacekeeping. The first peacekeeping mission was established on May 29 1948. India One of The Largest Contributors in United Nations Peacekeeping Missions; Around 2,00,000 Indian Troops Deployed Till Date.

On the occasion of UN Peacekeepers day, the UN Secretary-General presides a wreath-laying ceremony at the United Nations Headquarter in New York to honour all who lost their lives while serving the UN flag. Additionally, the Dag Hammarskjold Medal is awarded posthumously who have fallen while serving during the preceding year. 150 Indian Peacekeepers in S Sudan Awarded Medal of Honour for Dedicated Service.

The International Day of UN Peacekeepers was proclaimed by UN General Assembly through Resolution 57/129 on 11 December 2002. The UN decided to proclaim the day after receiving a request from the Ukrainian Peacekeepers Association (UPA) and Ukraine Government. This day was first celebrated in 2003.