Festivals & EventsHappy New Year 2020

Delhi Metro Timings for Independence Day 2019: Trains to Run As Usual on August 15, Station Parking to Remain Shut Till 2 PM

Delhi Metro | Representational Image (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, August 13: India is going to celebrate the 73rd Independence Day on Thursday and security has been beefed up all across the country, especially in the national capital. Considering the convenience of the commuters, Delhi Metro on Tuesday announced that all Metro stations will remain open on Independence Day but parking at Metro stations will be closed from 6 am on Wednesday till 2 pm on Thursday.

Along with this, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation also informed that the operations of the metro services will remain as usual, but the entry and exit at 4 stations of Violet Line — Lal Quila, Jama Masjid, Delhi Gate & ITO – will be permitted from select entry and exit gates only during the ceremony. Air India to Fly Over North Pole from Delhi to San Francisco, First Flight to Take Off on Independence Day

It said, “Metro Train services will run as usual across the entire Delhi Metro Network on Independence Day. However, entry/exit at 4 stations of Violet Line— Lal Quila, Jama Masjid, Delhi Gate & ITO will be permitted from select entry/exit gates during the ceremony.”

Here’s the tweet:

It is to be known that each year such restrictions are imposed by the Delhi Metro, which follows the safety guidelines issued by the Union Ministry. Special arrangements are made for the commuters who seek to reach the Independence Day parade ground and security is beefed up near three kilometres of teh boundary of Lal Quila, from where Prime Minister addresses the nation.