Virat Kohli Opts To Bowl


In contrast, Australian cricket has been dogged by structural reforms in the wake of the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa in March, which has resulted in turmoil on the field as well. Only on Tuesday, Cricket Australia ruled out reducing the length of the bans on Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft in reply to a plea submission from the Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA). In the absence of Smith and Warner, Australia’s results have been on a downward spiral. 

Since the ban, they are yet to win a T20I series against an opposition of note since March. (Play fantasy league and win cash daily)

Live updates of the 1st T20I between India and Australia, straight from The Gabba, Brisbane

13:23 IST: Terrific first over from Bhuvneshwar Kumar comes to an end. Just one run off the final ball of the first over. Australia and D’Arcy Short are off the mark. Jasprit Bumrah will share the new ball with Bhuvneshwar from the other end. AUS 1-0 after 1 over.

13:19 IST: Openers D’Arcy Short and Aaron Finch are out in the middle for Australia. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will start the proceedings for India. Two slips in position for him. Here we go!

13:10 IST: In the last 10 T20Is played between the two teams, India have won 8 matches while Australia have managed two victories. 

12:58 IST: Playing XI for both the teams.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmeed, Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), D’Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ben McDermott, Alex Carey (wk), Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa, Billy Stanlake.

12:50 IST: Toss – Indian skipper Virat Kohli wins the toss and opts to bowl against Australia in the first T20I.

12:45 IST: Australian team warming up ahead of the start of the first T20I. 

12:40 IST: An in-form team India will look to kick-start their campaign with a win against the unsettled hosts. India have won their last four T20Is against Australia in Australia.

12:35 IST: A few moments back the Indian team boarded the bus for the venue for the first T20I against Australia.  

12:30 IST: Hello and welcome to our live coverage of the 1st T20I between India and Australia in Brisbane.

While it undoubtedly strengthens the visitors, all eyes will be on how the Aaron Finch-led Australian side deals with the best batsman in world cricket at the moment. There have been calls from all quarters for Australian cricket to keep a check on aggression and play the game in right spirit but Kohli has always garnered attention whenever he has visited here. Kohli scored 199 runs in three innings during the 2016 T20I series’ whitewash over Australia. South African skipper Faf du Plessis has professed a “silent treatment” to Kohli and it remains to be seen if the Australian cricketers and the public can ignore him at all.


India’s 12: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik , Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.